It Makes Me Angry

Standard

During our first Friday Experience of PT this summer we recieved slips on paper filled with questions. Until I’m better at this whole blogging things I’m going to try to answer one of those questions in my blog every now and then. So here goes the first entry.

Questions on Purpose: 1. When you think about the world, what things make you most angry?

That we are all so selfish. That we are set in the state of mind of “what can others do for me?” It makes me angry.

That I personally get so wrapped up in petty things and miss meaningful moments. That those I love are settling with what they have and the circumstances they are in rather than doing something about it.  It makes me angry.

That I am shy in my faith and by holding back, I refuse to let myself be used to my full capacity. That I hate being wrong. That I can’t be who I am, so I don’t say things I wish other’s would hear because I am afraid of judgemental comments and looks. It makes me angry.

But what makes me the most angry is this: that we are all hungry for something. I remember once in the 8th grade, my table was looking through some book, which at the time we thought was ridiculous. But, we came to a line that read, “Have you ever been hungry? Truly hungry. For food? For knowledge? For love?” We laughed, wrote it on poster sized paper, and mocked the author for such an awful line in a novel. Of course no one is hungry for those things. We have McDonalds, school, and our parents; if no one else. But, aren’t we all hungry for something. For passion and desire. Don’t we all have gifts that could fill someone elses hunger? But are we willing to use what we’ve been given to make others’ lives filled. Do we feed the hungry? Educate those seeking knowledge? Love those who are unloved? In the book of Matthew it says, “whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” (Matthew 25:40). Yet, are we willing to step outside the comfort of the boxes we’ve trapped ourselves in to do things for others like we would do things for Christ?  It makes me angry.

Leave a Reply

